Sylvia’s veg*n food reviews: Victoria Vegan Alfredo Sauce

Oh Sprouts, I love that place, so many great vegan specialty goods available there and they have great produce (I get all of my fruit and veg there).  Unfortunately, I’ll be moving soon and so I won’t be so close to a Sprouts anymore, so in the meantime, every week, I’m going to treat myself to at least one vegan specialty item. This week was Victoria Vegan’s Alfredo Sauce.

Image
Let’s just get this out of the way before we get onto the actual quality of the product… I hate the packaging, why is there a woman with presumably no top on holding little pasta shells?? Is this how you get an edge in the sauce selling game? Anyway…

I ended up buying some Hodgson Mill veggie noodles (because the price was right and it sounded healthy), they were rotini made with beet, tomato and spinach.

ImageCooked it all up, added some broccoli and voila:

looks as good as it tastes!
looks as good as it tastes!

So first off, the alfredo sauce was good, and the only downside I could say is that it was a bit thin.  I always think of alfredo sauce as being thick and creamy.  A good solution to this would be to add some soy milk (or whatever milk of your choice) and maybe a tablespoon of nutritional yeast (something every veg*n should have in their pantry). The noodles were good too, although I wasn’t exactly fond of the beet noodles… or maybe I’m just biased against beets! I can’t really stand ’em.

All in all, despite the terrible packaging, Victoria Vegan makes a pretty good sauce which is good to buy in a pinch (and when it’s on sale).  I do prefer to make sauces from scratch, but for convenience purposes, this is a good choice.

My rating: 9 out of 10, since it requires adjustments, unless you like thin sauce.

 

 

 

Leave a comment